I made it – I’m now in a lovely northern state, where the high tomorrow is forecast to be in the 70s.  I’m not going to lie about this – the 70s in August makes me so happy that I could weep.  I went on a run last week after arriving and couldn’t stop smiling.  Remind me of all this in January, please, because I think I’ll be crying about the weather for a different reason by then.

Anyway, moving sucked just as much as always . . .  We did have movers this time, so I guess it technically sucked less, but it was still a PITA. Some of the more annoying things that happened this time:

  • Car trouble on the way, which actually caused our car to stop on the side of the road right next to where they were laying down new pavement on the interstate.  I’m still exhaling tar, I think.  (BTW, the car ended up being fine, and was relatively cheap to fix.)
  • Trouble with our bank, circa four days before our scheduled closing date.  Apparently, after giving loans to gerbils for a while, they’ve instituted some new rules that make getting a mortgage dependent on the date of your paycheck, not on your actual ability to pay.  I cannot even express how pissed-off I am about this shit.  Luckily the administration at our new university has been incredibly accommodating in helping us to get everything fixed.
  • The mysterious disappearance of several boxes from my office stuff, containing paper copies of articles that I’ve been collecting since I was an undergraduate.  Of course, I have electronic records of all the articles in my library via Endnote, but some of the paper copies have useful notes attached, etc.  I have no idea where they are – I’m not even sure they got on the van.  Stay tuned as I try to track them down.

So, that’s the story.  It’s now time to focus on actual work again, which I am finding difficult.  It’s Monday morning, however, so I guess it’s time to get to it.  I will also try to get back to posting on a weekly basis again now that we’re relocated.

